Introverted Sensing & Relaxing

Introverted Sensing has been talked about a lot in the past few posts, however, I haven’t discussed a whole lot on how it works individually within the INFP. What I mean is, “Si” has many functions when it works tandem with “Ne” or “Fi” for instance, but I haven’t explored its function when the INFP is solely using and focusing on Introverted Sensing.

Now, the role of “Si” is to help the INFP recharge and energize. “Si”, itself, focuses on internal data and details, in contrast to “Se” focusing on external data and details. Such internal data can include internal feelings, emotions, hungers, pains, and memories.

So how exactly does the INFP relax through Introverted Sensing? With Extraverted Intuition, it’s role of support is rather obvious through the INFP being able to generate new ideas. With Introverted Sensing, however, it’s a little harder to interpret.

Could it mean that INFPs can relax once all of their emotions, hungers, pains, are in order? As in, they can concentrate and think once their body is comfortable physically, once they’ve eaten, once they’ve relieved any pains?

I do think that’s a reasonable interpretation. I have noticed that I, more than some people, can have a harder time concentrating on work when I’m hungry or thirsty.

Though, I think there is more to the function of “Si” than relaxing once “Si” is all in order. It doesn’t make a whole lot of sense saying INFPs can only relax when “Si” is in default mode or when it doesn’t have to worry about certain emotions, pains, hungers, memories, etc.

Instead, I think the INFP can only relax once they use “Si” like a doctor during a check-up. A certain day’s events can go by really quickly, and lots of internal data with be inputted into the INFP. A jumbled string of pains, hungers, and memories from the day’s events may leave the INFP tangled and confused.

Once the INFP is by him or herself and can sit down and think, the INFP will often bring “Si” in as the “check-up doctor”. Even if the INFP has a few pains and hungers blaring internally, the INFP must check and find the sources of those pains.

Also, the INFP will rewind the day’s events and search through his or her memories, untangling the experiences from the day’s events. Once the INFP can study his or her memories, the INFP can better learn from those experiences and understand what happened during the day.

Most importantly, the INFP will also study and analyze the feelings that generated from certain events and use “Fi” in tangent to figure out why they feel that way or what they feel in general.

Personally, I find this interpretation to be more true than the “relaxing only when comfortable”. Of course, that interpretation still applies, but often, especially after a traumatic or stressful event my mind will being reeling, rewinding the memory of the events and going over them even if I myself don’t feel like the need to.

Thinking over the day and checking up on myself, especially just having the chance to do a “check-up”, can be very relieving.

In many ways, Introverted Sensing is like a check-up doctor, testing the INFP’s vitals. The INFP will be happy to understand and know how he or she is currently and will be able to relax comfortably.

 

Resources:

http://www.cognitiveprocesses.com/16Types/16Types.cfm

http://www.cognitiveprocesses.com/Cognitive-Functions/Introverted-Sensing.cfm

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Quixie says:

    I’m an INFP and often times feel the *need* occasionally to review my past to figure out how I got to where I am. It’s really important to me I understand how my past in influencing me currently. Additionally, it helps me to feel grounded. Is this Si or something else?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, that is Si. Many times, Si will take in the details from the current situation the INFP is in and compare and contrast the details to past situations. Basically, Si is concerned with the past and with what is familiar to the INFP so that the INFP can “navigate” current situations.. If nothing feels familiar then you, I, and other INFPs will feel unbalanced and won’t feel grounded like you said. So yes, Si deals a lot with comparing current experiences with past memories. Thanks for the question!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Quixie says:

        Things are constantly changing in my hectic life and that explains why I feel so unbalanced and ungrounded. I’m working on mindfulness therapy and finding self-soothing techniques that work for when I can’t change my circumstances.

        You are welcome for the question. I am sure there will be more coming in the future! 😉

        Like

      2. Hopefully things work out for you. I’ve had many hectic, stressful moments in my life, and usually the best way to relieve some of that stress is to hold onto and focus on the few things that are familiar to me and consistent. (for instance, friends, family, maybe even “familiar” forms of entertainment) Thanks for the comments!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Quixie says:

        This helps.😊 I’m going to make a list of familiar things to turn to during this upheaval in my life. Thanks!

        Like

  2. Jack Sparrow says:

    Hi,

    INFP here.

    I do understand Ne, pretty well. Its like the way Sherlock holmes mind works, with several possibilities.

    However, I really have trouble understanding what the Si and Fi are, and how they work.

    I remember reading that for INFP, Si is kind of relaxing mode. I haven’t felt such way.. But, when i find myself relaxing due to exercises or quiet environment, I find my memory works pretty neat. When i’m in a relaxed mode, all my past memories just flashes and keeps running like a train in my mind.

    Like

    1. Si is rather confusing, and it has many, many aspects to it. My next two posts, actually, will discuss Fi and Si. But anyways, most personality profiles or cognitive function sites don’t explain this “relaxing” very well. It’s not so much relaxing like the INFP sitting on the couch and not doing anything relaxing, it’s relaxing as in this is how the INFP relaxes, this is how the INFP feels “comfortable” mentally. So things like exercising or just feeling comfortable, mentally , will “turn on” Si and cause those little memory “spurts”. I’ll discuss this more later, but the INFP relaxes through Si, and often times, when the INFP relaxes mentally, Si will turn on. It works vice-versa. Often times, especially at work, if I have a task to get done that doesn’t require any mental strain, and if it’s quiet, my mind goes to this relaxation mode.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

