From An INFP’s Perspective: Extraverted Thinking

In the last three posts, I shared a few personal observations on Extraverted Intuition, Introverted Feeling, and Introverted Sensing.

In this post, I’ll share my personal observations on Extraverted Thinking.

“Te” is the INFP’s fourth function, and so it will be more conscious to the INFP than the previous three functions. The INFP doesn’t use “Te” as much as “Fi” or “Ne” for instance, but the INFP uses “Te” nonetheless.

Also, because “Te” is the fourth function, it holds the Aspirational Role. Basically, when the INFP is stressed out or under pressure, the INFP will begin to use “Te”.

Extraverted Thinking consists of organizing the external world, and it cares about how things and people are organized so that things can be done with efficiency and productivity.

So here are my personal observations. Two of them are very similar, but good examples.

1. Organization Stress #1

In moments of high stress at work, I don’t have too much trouble focusing on the task at hand. However, during high pressure and stressful moments, “Te” will turn on. Even though I may focused on the task at hand, “Te” will be like a constant alarm or form of notification. As I try to do the current stressful task, I will still be aware of things that need organized or fixed in the external world through “Te”.

As I’ve noticed, if one or all of those issues that need being organized or fixed are fixed, I feel very relieved and much less stressed.

2. Organization Stress #2

During high school, I noticed that when taking a test or studying for one, if the room I was in was unorganized and a mess, I had a hard time concentrating on studying or focusing on the test. I had to fix what I could before I could go back and work in peace. Of course, external disorganization shouldn’t affect the internal processes of my mind, but in moments of stress, I become hyper-aware of messes and such disorganization, even though I could care less about those messes while I’m not stressed.

3. Quotes

Another “aspect” of “Te”, is following other people’s speech in an objective manner, for instance, noticing if people say that they’ll discuss three topics but only mention two topics.

Now this is only one example of this and a rather obscure one at that. However, as I am a movie-junkie of sorts, I find that it is a pet-peeve of mine when people quote a movie wrong. Of course, there are some famous movies quotes out there that people quote constantly and don’t quote them wrong because they’re famous.Though, when people reference a slightly less famous quote and get it wrong (at least to my knowledge), I’ll get very frustrated.

 

So that concludes my series on cognitive functions from my personal, INFP perspective. What did you guys think? Would you like to hear about other cognitive functions from, for instance, INFJ or INTJ perspectives?

 

Resources:

http://www.cognitiveprocesses.com/Cognitive-Functions/Extraverted-Thinking.cfm

http://www.cognitiveprocesses.com/16Types/16Types.cfm

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Quixie says:

    It’s true that as you age/grow into maturity you are better able to integrate your inferior and shadow functions, right? I’m in my mid 30s and am finding just recently I’ve started to successfully use Te.

    For example, right now I’m dehoarding my house. Rather than feeling overwhelmed and becoming paralyzed I’m now about to sit down, take a breath, say “It’s okay – you’re good at this” and am amazed at what seems to be a new-found ability to sort, organize, and purge. It’s am amazing feeling because I haven’t ever felt like I was very good in three practical matters. It’s very satisfying to see things actually getting done.

    Like

    1. Quixie says:

      “About to” should be “able to.” “Three” should be “the.” Ah, autoincorrect! Lol

      Like

      1. Quixie says:

        “Am” to “an” as well. Okay, I’ll stop. Te at work😉

        Like

    2. That is true. The inferior and shadow functions will only “appear” in the INFP’s cognitive consciousness later in the INFP’s life, and so young people like me will find that though we can use “Te” and other inferior functions, it will be in a rather immature, cognitive style. Over the years, like you said, you will grow to use those inferior and shadow functions more often, and you will begin to “master” those functions. It’s encouraging to hear that you are more at ease in tasks that require organization and such. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Quixie says:

        Younger me would be amazed at what I’m doing now! Be encouraged that most likely your Te will start to be used positively in situations that are not even stress-induced.😊

        Liked by 2 people

    3. Jeff Leyerle says:

      Quixie, thanks for sharing and glad to hear your story. I had the same experience in my thirties. Noticed I was hoarding, recognized it wasn’t very productive, and started the purge and reorganization process. It took years. Now that I’m in my late forties, everything is very minimal in my life, uncluttered and simple to organize and track. Now, Te functions to keep only what is necessary and eliminate the rest. Also, rather than trying to “fix broken things” using Te, it’s about building and planning things correctly in the early stages.

      Perhaps the mature form of Te might look like how an architect questions their client’s inner thoughts, draws up clear blueprint and they work out solutions before gathering resources to build the house.

      Would creating a blueprint, book, or just talking to someone else about ideas be examples of Extraverted Thinking? Is this blog Te?

      Thanks TTH for the insightful blog about INFP!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Quixie says:

        Jeff, thanks for sharing. This is fascinating! This gives me hope that I’ll be able to accomplish my goals. I’d like to learn how to focus my energy in order to do that.

        Like

      2. Sorry for the late reply, but concerning your question(s), yes, sort of. In the sense of needing to organize ideas, there isn’t exactly one function that you get directly point to and say, “Oh that’s ‘Ti'” or “‘Te’ deals with that”. Now, one might say ideas are internal in nature, thus they can’t be “Te” which is external in nature. However, at least for the INFP, we can take an indirect route of explaining this “organization of thoughts”. “Ne” will come up with the ideas, and perhaps, “Te” will then organize them in an external fashion. The INFP may feel required to, like you said, write a book about such thoughts, or, feel the need to plan out the idea in some part before working on it (though at a certain point the INFP will want to start doing instead of planning, unlike Judging types) Is this blog “Te”? In a way I guess it is. Now, if you or anyone else can point to function and say, “That’s where the INFP organizes thoughts.” then do tell, I would be happy to hear what you guys have to say, because I could be wrong. Thanks for the question! 🙂

        Like

  2. Jack Sparrow says:

    Good post. 🙂
    Everything you had written sounds familiar to me.

    See, i do this like, what you had said in example 3. But still, i wonder whether that experience would come under Te.

    I see Extroversion as dealing with things, people, or anything that physically exists.
    Introversion as dealing with ideas & principles, or anything that mentally exists.

    And i think Introversion can mean Introspecting & Outrospecting. So I don’t think that, following other people’s logic and thoughts would be “Te”.

    What do you think ?

    And I wouldn’t want you write about the cognitive functions from other personality types. But i like your writing, so probably i would enjoy it and get something valuable there.

    I would like you to write more about INFP personality, if you can and like to. And how some hidden potentials could be untapped for INFPs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmm, that is a very good question, and something I should have realized. Now, the source I gained that information from was from that Cognitive Processes site (link in the post). They say, “In written or verbal communication, extraverted Thinking helps us easily follow someone else’s logic, sequence, or organization.” However, it is something I should do but comparing the opinions of different resources is important. So, after reading a few other sites on “Te”, your comment makes more sense. “Te” is objective in nature, and it cares about measurable facts and results. From this site: http://personalitygrowth.com/extraverted-thinking/
      “Ti” cares more about the internal logic of something. I think you are right in saying that “Te” wouldn’t consist of following other people’s logic. Whereas “Ti” cares about if things make logical “sense” to them, whether something lines up with the person’s internal logic, “Te” will probably use logic more objectively, like whether a result is logically fair instead of relying on gut feelings. So yes, if that made any sense, I think you are right. INFPs may notice if someone, for instance, forgets to mention a third topic, because of the INFP’s objective look at the speaker’s conversation. However, someone with “Ti” would notice when someone’s topic doesn’t make logical sense. Anyways, thank you for the comment and your advice concerning whether or I should explore other personality types.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jack Sparrow says:

        I get that, your writings are based on those reference links.
        I actually wasn’t convinced with the points in those external sites. So, I was looking out for few bloggers like you, with whom i thought i might be able to understand the functions clearly and deeply.

        I think you are perfectly right with what you defined with Te and Ti, here in this comment.
        Thank you, this comment helps me to understand these functions a little more.

        I would like to put it this way too.

        Ti and Fi – are process oriented – How things are done. – Also Subjective
        Te and Fe – are result oriented – What you get at the end. – Also objective

        What do you think ?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Lots of external sites can explain the functions and other aspects of personality well, however I agree with you because in their definitions of the functions they can either be too vague or too short. Now, one of my favorite personality type sites out there is Personality Junkie http://personalityjunkie.com/
        If you don’t already read Personality Junkie, you need to. The author has lots of great in-depth looks at the types and functions (and his books are good too).
        Concerning “Ti and Fi – are process oriented…”, I definitely agree with those definitions. That is a really good way to differentiate those four functions. And again, thank you for your input!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Jack Sparrow says:

        Thank you and you are welcome.

        I’ve visited personalityjunkie earlier, but didn’t give it a full read. Don’t remember why.

        I’m giving it a read now, and will explore more.

        Will catch you at your next post.

        Thank you again. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

