Can Personality Change?

It’s often thought in psychology that personality is in-born. People are born with certain cognitive traits can stick with them from birth to death. Now, part of personality is based on nurture, referencing back to the nature vs. nurture argument.

Many psychologists agree now that personality is a mixture of nature and nurture. Some traits are born within us, and other parts of our personality are influenced by our environment. For instance, we may be born introverted, and because of how we were raised and our environment, we may develop a taste for certain types of music or certain foods.

I think many people will agree that personality can change, at least on the nurture side of things. We might start to enjoy listening to country music instead of rock.

However, a common question asked by MBTI test-takers is, “Can I change my personality type?”

Personality types are very different from a nurture view of personality. These types like INFP or ENTJ are made up of cognitive functions, cognitive traits that have been in the person since birth. Changing your personality type means changing which cognitive functions you prefer to use. So, is that possible?

This depends a lot on environment. If you’re INFP, but your work environment forces you to plan and schedule more and be more organized than adaptable, you may begin to change your Perceiving side to Judging, and perhaps act more like an INFJ. However, whenever you leave such an environment for a long period, you’ll most likely revert back to INFP.

Now, some personality theorists do not believe personality can change. You may begin to develop traits contrary to your type in different environments, but you’ll usually revert back to your original type.

Though this only one study and in a very specific environment, some researchers, Yeakley, Norton, Vinzant & Vinzant, in 1988, wanted to use the MB-TI test to see if personality changes were occurring in the members of a church. Around 800 people from the church participated.

These members were required to take three tests. The first test was for how the member was before they joined the church, the second was for how that member saw themselves now, and the third was for how they saw themselves 5 years from now.

The first test showed the expected distribution of personality types. The second test, however, showed that the members’ current personalities where that of ESFJ, ESTJ, and ENFJ. Finally, the third test showed that many members thought they would be ESFJ in five years.

Now, when tested in other religious organizations like Baptist and Lutheran churches for instance (more churches were tested than those two), the changes in personality were not statistically significant.

Though my resources are not clear as to if this first church and its results were statistically significant, they make it seem that the reason why such members would want different personality types (like ESFJ and ESTJ) and begin to have such personalities is rooted in the fact that many of the leaders of this first church were ESFJ and were instilling ESFJ traits within their church members.

Though I do not know if this change in personality was permanent, I can only assume that if a church member left that church their personality would revert back to their original personality type. Within that church though, a member would strive to be ESFJ or a type close to ESFJ, and would stay ESFJ during their church stay.

So can personality change? Given certain environments, personality can change, but only temporarily.

Is this change healthy? No, I believe if someone wants to change their personality they should first figure out what traits they want to see in themselves that they want to change and thus figure out what traits their personality type lacks. It’s not about getting rid off traits like introversion, it’s about accepting those traits and learning where to compensate. No personality type is better than another, and don’t let anyone say otherwise. Every personality type lacks something, and if we can learn that, than we can understand where we can compensate for what we lack.

 

Resources:

https://www.16personalities.com/articles/is-it-possible-to-change-your-personality-type

http://oddlydevelopedtypes.com/content/book-devoted-intps

http://www.somis.org/TDD-02.html

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Quixie says:

    We are on the same wavelength today — I was working on a post about how I believe my personality has been changing. Right now I pretty consistenly type as an INFP, although when I took the test in high school I typed as an INFJ and in college as an INTP. I’m not sure that I was self-aware enough to answer these questions accurately. I’m thinking that perhaps I was always an INFP but with an ISTJ mother who was influencing me to act outside my type. I dunno.

    After looking at cognitive functions I am even more confused. I seem to either have a higher developed Fe and Ni than the typical INFP or a higher developed Fi and Ne for an INFJ. When I take cognitive function tests I become even more confused. The typical results I get based off the questions are that I use the cognitive functions in the following order: Fi, Fe, Ne, Ni, Se, Si, Ti, Te. LOL. Well, at least I know I used the functions in the order of Feeling, Intuition, Sensing, and then Thinking. It’s just a matter of whether I prefer to use these functions introvertedly or extrovertedly.

    Like

    1. Heheh wow that’s interesting. And wow, that order is… crazy. But yes, I agree, even though I know I’m more Fi than Fe and such with the other functions, there are times when I use the different functions interchangeably, especially Fi and Fe.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Quixie says:

        Yeah. It drives me nuts. I figure either I’m not self-aware enough to know exactly what order I actually use the functions in or ordering of MBTI functions isn’t accurate for every person (not everyone fits nicely into the box).😊

        In what situations do you find yourself using Fi asked Fe interchangeably?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. 🙂 I think that when the INFP is attaching emotions to other things and other people through Fi, I believe that in many ways they’re also using Fe, understanding and analyzing the emotions of the group. I find myself doing this a lot, sometimes studying my own emotions, sometimes studying the emotional state of, for instance, my family, and wanting there to be harmony in my family if there isn’t any.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

