INFP Weaknesses (And How Not To Approach Them)

Now, this post is mostly based on how I used to approach INFP Weaknesses and that doesn’t mean you all approached them the same way. But because the weaknesses of the INFP are rather unique, I’m sure most of you have viewed them this way.

Many of the INFP Weaknesses include:

Too Idealistic

Too Altruistic

Extremely Sensitive

Reserved

Oblivious to Social Behavior

Dislikes Dealing With Data (Would Rather Look at the Big Picture)

And many more, especially from INFP Personal Growth.

Either this is a problem with most personality profile sites, or it’s just a problem with me and other INFPs, but many of these weaknesses sound… too good to be weaknesses.

Too altruistic? Too selfless? Or, too sensitive? Is that actually a bad thing? Oblivious to social behavior? Well, I want to be an unique individual. Too idealistic? Is that a bad way to view the world?

So compared to other personality weaknesses, I found that in the area of INFP weaknesses, many personality profiles had a tendency to make those INFP weaknesses sound something like “Oh, the INFP is too kind” or “too compassionate” or “too selfless”.

Those aren’t weaknesses. Those are amazing virtues to possess.

Now is that a problem with the personality descriptions? Not entirely. I do believe that some sites do a good job of wording the INFP weaknesses in a way that actually reaffirms that I am INFP, and also they word them in a way that makes these seemingly “perfections” sound like imperfections.

However, during my beginning days of personality typing, there was a big problem with how I viewed these weaknesses. It wasn’t so much the common, “oh my personality is the best”, but it was close in that I didn’t want to believe that anything was wrong with my personality. And so I would read things like, “Too Idealistic”, like I was reading something like, “Too Kind” or “Too Compassionate” or “Too Selfless”.

In a way, it is easy to interpret the INFP weaknesses in an optimistic way. For instance, INFPs can be so passionate about an idea that they often forget the practical things of life like eating and maintaining their health, becoming very impractical individuals. I often would approach this impracticality as a reminder of how passionate I can get, not as a reminder of how I can hurt myself.

From talking with many other personality guru’s, I have gotten the sense that many of the other types view the INFP the same way. They see INFPs sometimes as naive, but empathetic people with good passions and good hearts, even if there are consequences. Of course, viewing the INFP in this light isn’t a terrible thing. I would go as far to say at the that that view is the very basis of the INFP or that that view is the INFP summed up in a few words.

I would see those weaknesses as just part of my personality. I mean, of course, they are a part of my core personality. My core preferences. INFP.

If those weaknesses are a part of me, then they’re stuck there. And most of my weaknesses aren’t as terrible as some of the other types’, so there won’t be many consequences in not changing as an individual. I mean, who would get upset over being too altruistic or idealistic?

Someone I know well who also shares a love for personality types once asked me why I enjoy learning about my personality so much. He told me that by discovering his own personality, he could learn what his core weaknesses are, and he could learn to compensate for those weaknesses and grow as an individual.

I never thought about personality typing in that way before. I wanted to believe that each personality was perfect in its own way. And really, no personality type is ever truly bad or weak in comparison to other types. It’s not like you take a personality test and the results say, “You’re ESFP, but you also show weak traits, so we’re going to add the Weak trait to your four preferences. Other personality types have the Strong trait, so too bad for you, you have a bad personality.”

No, each personality type is strong in it’s own way. However, each personality type is not perfect individually. While INTPs are very open-minded, ESFJs are good at connecting with others.

These weaknesses should not be viewed as strengths. There’s nothing wrong with being too kind, and there’s nothing wrong with viewing the world in an optimistic, idealistic way. However, the INFP, like all the other types, isn’t perfect. We can really hurt ourselves whether it’s through forgetting to eat because we’re too passionate about something or idealizing the world. And we can also really hurt the people around us, especially when we ignore the opinions of others or view our opinions and feelings to be better than those of the people around us.

Instead of taking the test and only reading what we want hear, like how we INFPs are amazing individuals who are very passionate and emotional, it’s time many of us learned that we aren’t perfect individuals and that we don’t have perfect personalities.

However, if we take the test and learn what our weaknesses are, we can learn to compensate. If we don’t prefer certain thought processes or perspectives, we will be better, more successful individuals by doing so.

This isn’t me saying that you should completely abandon your current thought processes, perspective, ideals, values, etc. You are better at those processes than any other personality type. Keep those processes. Exercise them. Show everyone what you are capable of.

However, there comes times and situations where other personality types and other processes will do better than you. Not everything in the world and not everyone in the world will align with your abilities. If you learn to compensate, though, you will be a more successful person.

 

Resources:

https://www.16personalities.com/infp-strengths-and-weaknesses

http://www.personalitypage.com/html/INFP_per.html

One Comment Add yours

  1. “we ignore the opinions of others or view our opinions and feelings to be better than those of the people around us.” I needed to hear this. I didn’t think INFP’s did that since we are supposed to be open minded. But I just got called out for this. wow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

