Fiction & the INFP

So sorry about the long hiatus. If you need something to blame, you can blame all the college homework I had.

Something I’ve noticed more frequently, at least, among my family and a few friends, is the tendency for INFPs to be drawn towards fiction more than other personality type.

Now, wait, I’m not saying that INFPs are the only type that love fiction, any and everyone loves a good story.

However, I will say that I know that many INFPs along with a select few other types (though not as frequently among other types) have a tendency to “obsess” over fiction or fandoms. Not only that, but I do feel that many INFPs also have an innate, creative desire to create stories. Or at least, something more or less artistic. (I know a lot of INFPs who love to write.)

I find myself frustrated often when family members have a hard time getting into a TV show that I will admit I do obsess over or when a friend doesn’t see the symbolism into a novel I’ve read half-a-dozen times.

Though I know a lot of people who love a good movie, I do wonder sometimes if my “obsession” is unique and unusual. My desire to write good stories and my desire to watch or read or indulge in good stories is something I don’t find in many people. Often times, my family and friends call certain shows, movies, or books I love to be boring or over-dramatic.

And if this is true, if most types aren’t as fascinated with fiction as the INFP, I do think I can explain why.

Of course, if you are an INFP and are not enthralled by fiction, I am not surprised, and don’t assume that I assume that all INFPs are story-lovers. Each personality type is unique, but even two INFPs can be starkly different.

Reason #1: Introverted Feeling & Projecting Emotion

As I talked about a while back, INFPs attach and project emotions onto anything everything, music, inanimate objects, animals, friends, etc. We INFPs are masters of emotions. Because we spend a lot of time studying our emotions and trying to figure out why we feel the way we do, we begin to understand emotions in general to such an extent that we can easily project and attach emotions onto other, external things. It’s an ability we can turn on and off; we can empathize with other people when we want to, whereas other types have trouble “not feeling” anything.

And because of this ability in emotion, I, and I assume many other INFPs, will often attach emotions and empathize with the fictional characters inside the books we dive our heads into. If the story is engaging and fascinating, we will empathize even more with these characters and become deeply moved by just a string of letters.

Reason #2: Extraverted Intuition

With “Ne”, INFPs can become very creative vessels, possessing childlike but powerful imaginations. This imagination or “Ne” grows with them and matures alongside them, creating a vast and deep imagination but also one of maturity and creative power. INFPs can see so many possibilities that could spawn from a single moments, and INFPs also can connect many moments and memories together, seeing the symbolism and story of life everyday.

Because of this imagination, INFPs live in two worlds, fantasy and reality. The magic of their inner worlds cannot compare to the mundane lives they lead, however, their inner worlds motivate INFPs to go out into the world and find the real symbolism of life around them. Though this desire is hard to satisfy, many INFPs can find a means of easing this “hunger” through fiction, via books, movies, tv shows, etc, such that INFPs can easily get lost in these new, fantastical stories. Many who do possess this desire or at least not to the extent that the INFP does will often see the INFP’s obsession with fiction or books to be unusual.

However, the INFP who desires to be emotionally motivated and stimulated day-to-day and who also desires to find a world similar to their own inner world of imagination will often find a way of fulfilling both desires through the books they read or movies they watch.

Though this fiction obsession of the INFP is more or less unusual, compared to that of the rest of the world, it is just another way of the INFP being unusual and unique, traits that the INFP prizes.

One Comment Add yours

  1. once again you explain me too well. I could literally write a book about this topic. There is just so much to say.

    Like

Leave a Reply

