The Idealism of Wonder Woman

Yes, again, here’s another post similar to that of the previous one I did on the Flash.

I write this because I just saw Wonder Woman in theaters. This will both be a review and will discuss a bit about INFP-related things I saw in Wonder Woman. And unlike the last post, I can promise that there will be no spoilers in this one.

So, review. (Very short).

This movie is fantastic. The action is awesome and intense. There is a lot of symbolism in the film. Gal Gadot is amazing as Diana Prince, Wonder Woman. Her character is nothing like I’ve seen in other superhero films, especially those like Iron Man with the “rich, arrogant guy gets powers and becomes nicer” plots (more on that character arc later). I’ve heard many raving reviews about Wonder Woman over the past week and for good reason. You have to see this movie.

In relation to the few DC films out there (Man of Steel, Batman V Superman, Suicide Squad, not including other DC films like the Dark Knight trilogy), this is by far the best of them and a relief to watch. Batman V Superman, not an all-together terrible film but really not that great. Suicide Squad, never saw, glad I didn’t. Man of Steel… I’m one of the few people out there that actually liked it, but Wonder Woman definitely tops it.

A few small notes:

There were so many powerful, chilling moments in the movie.

While other people have raved about the movie but criticized the ending, I thought the ending was great.

Chris Pine was great as Steve Trevor, an also amazing character. Gal Gadot and Chris Pine had a lot of chemistry, and their counterpart characters Diana and Steve grew to have an interesting relationship throughout the film.

The soundtrack and cinematography was great as well, Patty Jenkins, the director, did an amazing job, and I hope and think she’s coming back for the possible sequel. (don’t quote me on that, I really have no idea)

There wasn’t too much backstory, and where there was, it was necessary and interesting; the whole film fit together very neatly.

There many comical moments, and each joke and scene sold well as they were legitimately hilarious and much of the audience laughed at each one in the theater I was in.

In all, I would definitely see this movie again and highly encourage others to go see it.

 

Onto INFP-related things. (Again, no spoilers)

Diana Prince’s character arc is a great example of a good inner hero story and arc. It’s unique, especially in the superhero genre, when as I’ve said before some don’t have arcs whereas others have the Iron Man arc of “rich arrogant guy becomes nicer”.

Diana Prince lives on Themyscira, or “Paradise Island” as Steve Trevor calls it. Zeus created the Amazonian women and the island where they live; their purpose being to help mankind towards peace. However, they live apart from the rest of humanity, fearing Ares, the god of war, and his coming return.

When Steve Trevor stumbles upon and flies into this safe haven, he tells the Amazonian women that there is a Great War going on (World War I). Diana believes this is the work of Ares and believes she is destined to stop Ares.

Throughout much of the film, Diana puts a lot of trust in mankind. She believes the key to stopping the corruption of war is by stopping Ares. Whoever Ares is, if he is vanquished, his influence will be gone from mankind and man will be good and peaceful again.

Later in the film, Diana learns soberly that this not true. Man isn’t evil because of a powerful, cosmic being influencing every movement, but instead because man is just… corrupt. Man is evil. People do bad things.

Diana loses hope. She sees certain villains not as simple beings controlled by an overarching monster but as truly sick, terrible individuals. Diana sees the world for what it truly is.

Before, she believed a lot in mankind. She thought she could bring peace to them by reaching and defeating a singular villain. Much of her backstory, much of her childhood, was built on the belief that Ares was evil and that he pleasured in corrupting humankind.

She finds that it takes a certain effort far harder to defeat evil than any Godkiller sword could ever manage to do, but I’ll leave that up to you to find out by seeing the movie yourself.

I find her arc very similar to something that I’m sure many INFPs have experienced.

The 16 Personalities website puts this both as a strength and a weakness: the INFP idealism.

Strength:

“INFPs’ friends and loved ones will come to admire and depend on them for their optimism. Their unshaken belief that all people are inherently good, perhaps simply misunderstood, lends itself to an incredibly resilient attitude in the face of hardship.”

Weakness:

“INFPs often take their idealism too far, setting themselves up for disappointment as, again and again, evil things happen in the world. This is true on a personal level too, as INFPs may not just idealize their partners, but idolize them, forgetting that no one is perfect.”

INFPs often see others as perfect and have trouble noticing flaws in other people and in other things. I might judge someone or something based on the good things more than the bad, unless their lifestyle or beliefs are different or clash with my own.

Many times, I’m left depressed by the state of the world and state of other people, wishing they could be good, but knowing they won’t be perfect. And this happens over and over again. Idealism, disappointment, idealism, disappointment, again and again. I trust highly in other people. Why can’t people be good? Why would they have evil intentions? I know, deep down, that I am not perfect and that no one else is, but I still see them as amazing people.

It’s difficult when the people we trust go against everything we thought they were. This has happened a few times with friends from the past than with anyone else with me personally, but it’s happened a enough to cause hurt. And it’s incredibly easy to be hurt by it.

Wonder Woman’s story is a great lesson to the typical INFP who struggles with idealism. It’s easy to fantasize. It’s easy for us to forget the bad and fill it in with abstract ideas of perfection and think of the good times as better than they actually were.

It’s easy to be innocent to the hatred of the world, to forget all of it. However, constantly, I see the news, I see the terrorism, I see the evil. I wish there was more I could do. I wish that those with power did not corrupt so easily and used their gifts for good. But such is not the case.

Like Wonder Woman, there really is only one thing I can do in reaction to the disappointment, and it excites me to see a movie that explores such a character arc and resolution, rather than just being a superhero story purely about “okay, there’s a bad thing/person, go destroy bad thing/person”.

There is evil; there is corruption; there is heartbreak, but I can’t fix it purely through one mighty act of generosity or donation, or in Wonder Woman’s case, a single blow from a cosmic sword.

There are the perfect fantasies I come up with, and there is the destructive reality I’m stuck in. I strive to put the perfection of my fantasies into my bleak reality, but it doesn’t work. Even such fantasies like Wonder Woman are teaching me that.

Wonder Woman, however, also teaches me as an idealistic INFP that I can do one thing… and you have to see the movie to find out.

INFP-related things aside, especially right now it’s easy to place all of the blame and all of the corruption on a single powerful monster whose actions seem to be pointless and painful. Getting rid of that one monster, however, won’t get rid of all the pain and hatred in the world. There will always be evil; there will be other monsters. I wonder if Patty Jenkins, the director, realized that the message she was sending through the movie comes at no better time than right now. Much like how many superheros came out of desperate times like Captain America encouraging Americans to fight in WWII, Wonder Woman is the hero we need in 2017.

 

So yeah. That’s all I have to say. Please, please see this movie. It’s wonderful.

(And yes, I said that on purpose. Yes, it’s cheesy.)

 

Resources: 

https://www.16personalities.com/infp-strengths-and-weaknesses

Photo Credit:

http://za.ign.com/wonder-woman-1/99368/news/wonder-woman-set-photos-reveal-steve-trevors-introduction-to

3 Comments Add yours

  1. ctrent29 says:

    I don’t agree that “Wonder Woman” was the best DCEU movie so far. I would rank it third between “Man of Steel” and “Suicide Squad”. I had a few problems with the movie’s last 20-30 minutes. Otherwise, it was a first-rate movie. It was interesting to see Diana at her most naive, even if I found her naivety rather annoying and excessive.

    Like

  2. martalbb says:

    Reblogged this on Delineatas.

    Like

  3. martalbb says:

    Curious, I didn’t know there were males who fantasize as much as a woman, perhaps when you are young and use swords but then you grew up and become too ambitious realistic, pragmatic men. Well, perhaps you are still too young 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

